Beefy Boxes and Bandwidth Generously Provided by pair Networks BBQ
Clear questions and runnable code
get the best and fastest answer
 
PerlMonks  

Re^4: When will the 500.000th node appear?

by Random_Walk (Parson)
on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:23 UTC ( #497228=note: print w/ replies, xml ) Need Help??


in reply to Re^3: When will the 500.000th node appear?
in thread When will the 500.000th node appear?

This is kind of fun. It is not pretty and it fails for muba who has bizzarly entered a bet in January 2005 but for the reasonable problem space (Sep .. Dec 2005) it works.

perl -ne's/ (\d) / 0$1 /;@d=(split)[2..5];$d[0]=~tr/SOND/1234/;push@g,"@d$;$_";END{print$/;print map{(split/$;/)[1]}sort @g}'

Copy the list from the web page, run the perl, paste the list, hit enter and CTRL-D, or redirect a file with the guess list to the script.

# some (ugly) output poqui Mon Sep 26 11:27:30 2005 GMT Tue Sep 20 16:01:00 2005 GMT tstanley Thu Sep 29 02:44:00 2005 GMT Sun Sep 25 12:01:23 20 +05 GMT etm117 Mon Oct 03 14:05:00 2005 GMT Tue Sep 20 10:30:14 2005 GMT sithsasquatch Wed Oct 05 12:34:25 2005 GMT Mon Sep 26 21:56:28 20 +05 GMT blazar Thu Oct 06 18:03:39 2005 GMT Tue Sep 20 10:50:45 2005 GMT radiantmatrix Fri Oct 07 10:31:00 2005 GMT Wed Sep 21 19:14:08 20 +05 GMT castaway Mon Oct 10 11:11:00 2005 GMT Tue Sep 20 10:14:12 20 +05 GMT wazoox Mon Oct 10 14:00:00 2005 GMT Thu Sep 22 14:10:42 2005 GMT jcoxen Mon Oct 10 17:56:00 2005 GMT Tue Sep 20 16:06:19 2005 GMT

update

perl -ne's/ (\d) / 0$1 /;@d=(split)[2..5];$d[0]=~tr/SOND/1234/;push@g,"@d$;$_";END{print$/;print map{s/.*$;//;$_}sort@g}'

Cheers,
R.

Pereant, qui ante nos nostra dixerunt!


Comment on Re^4: When will the 500.000th node appear?
Select or Download Code

Log In?
Username:
Password:

What's my password?
Create A New User
Node Status?
node history
Node Type: note [id://497228]
help
Chatterbox?
and the web crawler heard nothing...

How do I use this? | Other CB clients
Other Users?
Others having an uproarious good time at the Monastery: (10)
As of 2014-04-23 10:08 GMT
Sections?
Information?
Find Nodes?
Leftovers?
    Voting Booth?

    April first is:







    Results (541 votes), past polls