Dear Monks,

Is there a proper way to gracefully kill your "Comment" before you post it, since after working on it, you realize your comment(solution) would be incorrect or doesn't really answer the post. I know that if I post(create) it, then I shouldn't delete, just update it.

I just had this happen(again), and I'm wondering if there is a proper way to free the PM resource?

Thank you

"Well done is better than well said." - Benjamin Franklin

Comment on Kill your "Comment" before you post since it's incorrect?
Re: Kill your "Comment" before you post since it's incorrect?
by MidLifeXis (Prior) on Feb 04, 2013 at 14:16 UTC

    Just close the window.

    --MidLifeXis

Re: Kill your "Comment" before you post since it's incorrect?
by blue_cowdawg (Monsignor) on Feb 04, 2013 at 15:14 UTC

    I seem to remember there is a "preview first" setting for posting. Too lazy to look for it, but that feature has caused me to pull back on a post after proof reading. Of course you could just click on a link before you post thereby bypassing the problem altogether.


    Peter L. Berghold -- Unix Professional
    Peter -at- Berghold -dot- Net; AOL IM redcowdawg Yahoo IM: blue_cowdawg

      Do you mean the

      Settings Nodelet -> User Settings -> Miscellaneous -> No Forced Preview

      checkbox? According to Help for User Settings:

      No Forced Preview: Checking this option will make it possible to submit a node without first previewing what you’ve written; in other words, without reminding you to check that your post looks the way you intended. This is a bad idea except for those very wise in the ways of Markup in the Monastery and then, only for those who never make typos or other mistakes. As Writeup Formatting Tips notes, “Preview, Preview, Preview.” For the same reason you faithfully use strict; use warnings;, leave “No forced Preview” UNchecked.

      Hope that helps,

      Athanasius <°(((><contra mundum Iustus alius egestas vitae, eros Piratica,

        Yes, but if one decided "OK, I edit once more", after that there is no forced preview - otherwise there wouldn't any more submissions at all :-)

        OTOH, perhaps if the "create" button could auto-hide upon re-editing in the form, so that one could only submit a previewed and then unaltered post - would that be a good or a bad idea? Might perhaps be possible with Javascript in a free nodelet....

Re: Kill your "Comment" before you post since it's incorrect?
by flexvault (Parson) on Feb 04, 2013 at 21:02 UTC

    Dear Monks,

    So far, everyone has misunderstood my question, so I must have done a poor job of explaining my concern. Since I do a lot of "preview"s before hitting the "create" button, I would not want to lose that feature.

    My question is about freeing the PM resource(s) that was(were) allocated when I hit the "comment" button. If it's freed automatically, then my question is academic.

    I did see today the following comment:

      "Please delete, I mis-understood the question."

    I will do that if that's the correct way to freed the PM resource(s) allocated for my mis-understanding of the question.

    Regards...Ed

    "Well done is better than well said." - Benjamin Franklin

      I don't know the code, but I'm 99% sure that starting a comment does not save anything into the server's database until you really submit it, so going back or closing the window is really enough ;-)
      (There are forums where draft articles are auto-saved regularly but there's no such feature here, so it wouldn't make any sense to save something on the server)

        I don't know the code, but I'm 99% sure that starting a comment does not save anything into the server's database until you really submit it, so going back or closing the window is really enough ;-)

        IIRC, technically speaking, it might reserve a row/node_id theoretically, and might save content into a session/cache table that gets emptied often, but none of this is matters as there is no "cancel" option