To log in, follow the link in the email you've received, or enter your username and password in the box near the top right corner of the page. Click "login". If you check the "remember me" checkbox, a cookie will be set so that you do not need to log in every time you visit PerlMonks.
Logging in "Cloaked"
Normally, when you're logged in, other monks can tell you're around in a couple ways: you're listed in the Other Users nodelet, and your 'last here' time (shown on your home node) is updated. If you'd prefer to log in "stealthily", so as not to appear in the Other Users list and not update your 'last here' time, you can log in with this link. This is sometimes referred to as being "cloaked". For example, if you log in this way, then the "talk" button in your Chatterbox Nodelet is labeled "decloak". If you then send a public chatter message, your presence will be registered (for that transaction) so your 'last here' time will be updated, and you will be listed in Other Users, at least for a few minutes. (Note, only public talking will have this decloaking effect. Sending commands such as /msg and /ignore, and sending nothing at all, do not have this effect, the button label not withstanding.)
Another effect of being "cloaked" is that the daily vote dispenser is not triggered. If you "decloak", you are no longer hidden from the vote fairy, and you will get a refresher of votes, if there are any coming to you.
Back to the PerlMonks FAQ